betnoob.blogg.se

Os x mail add folder gmail
Os x mail add folder gmail








I understand why I don't want Apple Mail to move my deleted messages to /Trash. If only Gmail could have the useless "conversations" and tags things switched off. "Do no evil" my pooter.Īpple's Mail isn't perfect, but it's very configurable and very compatible. Nice effort by Google, but their opinion of how mail should work seems to have dulled their ability to implement a compatible mail server.

os x mail add folder gmail

Moving the (wrongly marked) messages out and then deleting the mailbox results in the *real* Gmail junk mailbox taking its place as I configured it on the previous launch. It looks like this bogus new folder is being created by Mail when it finds new junk that Gmail didn't already find.

os x mail add folder gmail

Until I click on the one in Junk - then it changes to "Junk (Gmail)" and loses its paper bag icon, going back to a blue folder. After re-opening Mail, there are two Junk folders for Gmail, *both* called "Gmail", but one's in the place Mail expects, the other's in the place Gmail expects. So that way all my mail, sent and incoming, is archived in one easily searchable place.Īnother problem - I told Mail to "Use This Mailbox For -> Junk" on the Spam folder.

OS X MAIL ADD FOLDER GMAIL MAC

mac account, and send out via GMail's SMTP. I hope I'm doing something stupid, and others have got around these oddities. *When I deleted a message from my INBOX it was removed from All Mail also (I may have emptied my trash, not sure, but regardless). Requiring me to mark each message as read twice to keep my new message count down. When I marked it read in my inbox, it did not mark read in All Mail. *New mail showed up in my Inbox AND in my All Mail folder. It's like GMail doesn't keep those inter-message links. *After you close and reopen mail, the little link shortcut that shows you replied (that you also click to see your reply) no longer shows for any emails. I messed with it for about two hours and then went back to my old configuration. It's a small price to pay, however, for IMAP access to Gmail. Not to mention, all Gmail labels are converted to folders and Mail.app, which could create quite a mess if you're like me and have a lot of labels. Note that you'll still have folders that don't map to Mail defaults such as, Starred and All Mail. Your Mail folders and Gmail folders should stay in sync.

os x mail add folder gmail

Click on the Use This Mailbox For menu item and click on the Mail folder that corresponds to the Gmail folder you've selected. The fix for this is simple, and may have only been unknown to me: Click on a folder in the Gmail folder in Mail's side bar. will be stored in a separate folder in Mail's side bar and not in Mail's standard folders. Google provides instructions for setting up the Gmail IMAP account in Mail.app, but, by default, your standard folders such as Sent, Drafts, Trash, etc. With the release of IMAP for Gmail (was I the only one who thought this would never happen?), one can finally keep his / her Gmail account synchronized across the web application and a desktop mail client, such as OS X's Mail.app.








Os x mail add folder gmail